@ John Hartranft

everything is miscellaneous

Happy New Year

leave a comment »

Yesterday was Summer Solstice, and as the stars have aligned this year, it was also Father’s Day. I like when the stars align…. it’s harmonic convergence that the calendar allows to happen too few times.

My son marked the occasion by giving me (of all things) a watch. A way to mark time. For me, I get a cheap Timex each year, so the gift marks my “New Year” of watch-wearing. It’s an innocent gift, and very practical, and to me, poignant. Giving your old man a watch seems like such a grown-up thing to do, as if time matters more now. For sixteen years, I’ve watched him grow, and the second hands on my watches now feel like they are ticking faster.

Ahh. Time and innocence. It’s remarkable how my son reminds me of me when I was younger. He’s discovering his passions while seeing the world as his oyster. What else can I do as his father but to help him to continue on that journey?

If I could have one Dad superpower, it would be the ability to align the stars for him now and as often as needed to feed his passions. That second hand will tick a finite number of times, the days will get shorter, and pretty soon it will be snowing outside. It’s his passions that will be timeless…and will help him achieve a little harmonic convergence. Yup. Aligning those stars would be my little innocent superpower dad gift of time to him.

Today I’ll drink a toast to innocence and I’ll drink a toast to time… another auld lang syne (with apologies to Dan Fogelberg).

Written by johnhartranft

06/22/2009 at 9:57 pm

Leave a Reply

